The Video Audition

As usual, I have been very busy. And for the most part, things are moving in a very positive direction. One major drawback is that the more hats I put on, i.e. writer, director, producer, location scout, casting director, etc, the less time I seem to have in my day. With a full time job the task isn’t easy. I’ve gotten a few subscribers on my youtube page, which is great. I’ve found a great illustrator to draw up pictures for the new website. I finally figured out how to effectively use Adobe Illustrator and I was able to design the logo image for the website, poster and t-shirt. The image isn’t fully ready for the poster, because I’m going to be adding background detail, but that’s just an additional step. I had been fiddling with that software and that logo for weeks and at times it became very frustrating, but I didn’t give up, and everything ended up working out. And I decided to go ahead and start holding auditions for the film…via video audition.

The thought behind it was that I want to get as much as possible done before the campaign launch. And the actors who are cast can also help to get the word out about the upcoming campaign. I also know that its very frustrating to drive all the way out to a location, just to find out that you aren’t the right fit for a character. And from an indie producer standpoint, it just seems like a more cost effective solution. I do the first round audition via video call from the comfort of my own home and it costs me nothing but time. I can decide if the character has the potential and look to play the character. If I feel that they can bring something to the character, I will be inviting them to the physical location in downtown Chicago, to really show what they can bring. I also plan to partner them up. So someone who is auditioning for Alexandria, will be paired up with someone who is auditioning for Derek, and so on and so forth. This will allow me to see how the actors work with others and their ability to really become the character, in the particular situation of the scene. I am not the first person to do video audition, but I don’t know why more people aren’t doing them, at least for the first round. It just seems more cost effective, from every angle.

And I am also working on the website, which is going to take a few weeks to get up because the illustrator has to do the pictures and I am also creating a landing page. I have so much to do, but honestly I am enjoying every second of it because I am working towards a goal and each step gets me closer to completing it, which is very exciting.

Thanks for checking out my blog and don’t forget to “LIKE” and “SHARE”.

Leave a comment